Freakin Blogger, not letting me comment…

OK, so here are some stories from around the intertubes about the latest political flashpoint.

Here, Peter Dybing over at Pagan in Paradise gives his response to Trayvon Martin’s death

Gus diZerega on Beliefnet puts it into perspective with the current cultural war

I’m waiting for Mealstrom over at The Political Pagan to weigh in. I’m really waiting for Mr Provost at the Provocation to say something, as I’m a definite fan of his.

I don’t think the problem is just in FL- despite some of the claims I’ve heard. I live in MD and I see that same tension growing here. I’ve also been told that I must be racist and part of the problem simply because I put on a uniform every day. I’m pretty sure the opposite is true. I’ve seen enough in the back of an ambulance to know for a certain fact that we are all the same where it counts. “We all bleed red” is a phrase I’ve heard in emergency response for years. There’s no quick answer here. I’ve started to wonder if every person just can’t stand anyone who isn’t exactly like them. Is it racism? Sexism? Ageism? Is it religious discrimination? Is it wealth discrimination? I once heard a conversation where a man admitted in all seriousness to thinking that anyone with a southern accent was stupid because of where they were born and raised.

We’ve developed a kind of personal xenophobia where everything different must be dangerous. This is how a child thinks. We’ve become a society of children. I fear that Dybing’s call to do something, anything, is falling on deaf ears. I wish success and I will do what I can. I hope it’s enough. In light of my previous post, what else can I do but my best?

5 responses

  1. Bella

    I’ll tell you right here and now, there is a definite reason I have worked very hard to elide what little accent I have left from growing up in Texas. That man who viewed anyone with a Southern accent as dim is by no means alone- hell, I’ve done it myself. I’ve always associated that thick drawl with someone who hasn’t been properly educated. My paternal grandmother, for example, had such a thick TN accent I could barely understand her- yet raised four sons, three of which ended up with prestigious graduate degrees.

    I find myself thinking there is a “southern” accent- a tendency to drop g’s off the ends of words, a small elongation of vowels- and a “redneck/good ol’ boy” accent, which explains how a rube from Northern Idaho sounds like he is from deep southern Alabama. I fall into this prejudice myself- I loathe redneck accents, but I know I hate it because there but for my English godmother, who I admire deeply, educated parents, and the grace of the Divine go I.

    The whole Trayvon Martin thing is a little bit off-putting to me. I see people on F’book using it as a call to arms, warning of flashpoints and riots and such, and quite frankly it makes me roll my eyes and ignore them. Would the same uproar have happened if the kid was Caucasian or Hispanic? Not likely. But then, they don’t have the infrastructure in place to wave the red flag in front of the metaphorical bull at the snap of fingers- no Al Sharpton or Jesse Jackson to kick hornet’s nests.

    Am I sorry the young man died? Of course. Do I feel for his family? Naturally. Do I think that certain people are taking advantage of the situation to get their own fearmongering agendas furthered? Without the shadow of a doubt.

    March 27, 2012 at 08:26

  2. Just so you know… I have given you the Inspiring Blogger Award….

    http://spidergoddess.wordpress.com/2012/03/28/very-inspiring-blogger/

    March 30, 2012 at 07:08

  3. I live in northern Vermont and see it here. I remember moving to the south about fifteen years ago and my stepchildren’s surprise to discover that blacks can be as prejudice as whites. I imagine a psychologist would attribute this to people’s insecurities, which is simply fear.

    People feel more secure when surrounded by similar people. They look outside themselves for soothing affirmations that they are alright, which can escalate into extreme affirmations that they are better than anyone as they feed off of each other. It does not seem to matter what aspect of humanity you observe (race, sex, creed, etc.) because this mechanism seems to pervade all. However, this outward action is the same as a doctor treating the symptoms instead of the cause of an illness.

    We must look within ourselves and confront the cause of our illness; our fears. Unfortunately, we find a dark place that we do not like to look at, which propels us outward. However, when we do not confront and conquer our inner demons, those demons drive us on mercilessly like a slavemaster with barbed whips. For this reason I submit that we have not become a society of children, but society has always been quite juvenile: read its histories.

    There has always been a minority that have learned the secret to magical transformation and power has been to embrace the darkness. The “children” jump to the conclusion that this means you become evil, which only reveals their chidishness. Turn to confront the darkness and wrest the barbed whips from your inner demons. In this manner power is gained. Doing this also does not mean that the “light” has to be forsaken.

    There is a curious aspect of this country. Approximately 3/4 of the population claims to be Christian, which involves the confessing and repenting of sins. How can anyone confess their sins if they are too afraid to face their inner darkness; to confront their inner demons?

    April 14, 2012 at 21:18

    • Well phrased. I find it difficult to accept that an overwhelmingly Christian population can not internalize the values of selflessness, love of neighbor, and compassion that form the core of the Jesus’ recorded teachings.

      Unfortunately I suspect that anywhere there are differences there will be ignorance, thus fear, thus hatred. Differences can not be avoided- it would be a boring world- but I still hope despite everything I see that ignorance can be overcome.

      April 15, 2012 at 10:17

      • Agreed! You will find me particularly in agreement with your final statement of hope.

        April 15, 2012 at 10:21

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 288 other followers